Ann Clipperton and Karaoke Do Not Socialize, and Some Photos From the Past Few Weeks

January 10, 2008

santamonica1.jpg

On New Year’s Eve, after dropping my mom off the airport, D and I drove to Santa Monica to enjoy some of the 70-degree weather on the beach. It was amazing. Shortly after, rain fell for about three days straight. I’m glad I got that first little dose of California weather so that little surprise of rain didn’t daunt me. It was actually kind of nice.

santamonica2.jpg

The City of Santa Monica from the beach

scarycats.jpg

Last week D and I drove to Los Angeles proper to meet up with G, D’s brother. We parked on a side street, and as we were walking back to the car, D stopped and said, “Whoa!”

“What?” I asked.

“Look,” he said.

I looked where he was looking, and lo and behold, three black cats sat statue-still, staring at us with their glowing yellow eyes.

“Creepy,” I said. And then I promptly pulled out my camera, hoping no drug dealers lived in the house and became suspicious about why I was snapping pictures of their cats.

purse.jpg

This is my new purse, the one I mentioned yesterday. I love it.

sunsetlounge.jpg

D’s roommate JC and D sing karaoke at our local haunt, The Sunset Lounge. The Sunset Lounge is a little dive bar in Fullerton, boasting one room full of pool, darts, smoke, noise, and mostly terrible but fun karaoke-ing (karaoking??). D and the other members of the Six Men Who Rule the World From Three Bedrooms enjoy coming here to kick back and do boy things. I enjoy it as well, though my nicotine allergy sometimes prevents me from staying too long. The people are nice, no one is hitting on anyone or trying to impress anyone, and it’s so loud that I can just sit and watch without scrambling to make conversation. I tend to go on sensory overload whenever I’m in a busy place, and I like to just sit and watch and memorize the details of a place… the haphazard plaques on the wall that haven’t been dusted in years and the man in the leather jacket who reminds me of Spanky from The Little Rascals and the way that D smiles when he is having fun with his friends.

They keep trying to get me to do karaoke, but long ago I made a vow, a principle for my life, that karaoke would never spill from my lips.

“Ann, are you going to sing?” They always ask.

“Ann Clipperton and karaoke do not socialize,” I say.

Someone always pipes up with a point about how you don’t have to be able to sing to do karaoke.

Obviously.

“It’s not a question of whether or not I can sing,” I say. “It’s a question of principle and personal choice. Are you trying to compromise my ideals?”

So, nights after nights pass where Ann Clipperton refuses to socialize with karaoke, and D again suffers the embarrassment of having to sing Sonny and Cher’s “I’ve Got You Babe” with his brother.

My highlight of this past week has been D’s roommate JC singing “Blower’s Daughter” by Damien Rice for karaoke. When he first chose the song at the prompting of a new, terrific girl I met the other night, AM, I thought, “Hmm, that’s an interesting karaoke song.” But the second JC started singing, everyone at the table: B, AM, RS, D, G, and I all started singing along, with passion and flare. My favorite moment is when I started singing the tear-jerking, gentle chorus to D’s roommate B: “Can’t take my eyes off of you/Can’t take my eyes off of you…” and how we kept glancing innocently at D, who was glaring at us with his hands in the air, like, “What is this?”

Another favorite thing about this adventure in California is how much I like D’s friends. I feel so comfortable and safe and accepted with all his roommates. I love AM, the girl I met last night, and now I’ve got her digits. Our JBU friend RS flew in yesterday. D’s brother G remains an all-time favorite of mine. Spending time at G’s house in Hollywood with his roommates has also been grand. My fabulous roommate JS arrives this evening. I am so thankful to already have a solid network here on which to build. It only gets better from here, right? That would be terrific. Because here is already pretty good.

4 Responses to “Ann Clipperton and Karaoke Do Not Socialize, and Some Photos From the Past Few Weeks”

  1. Lee Ella said

    I affirm you in your refusal to sing. I affirm you! I love Japan. I love the people of Japan. I love the food of Japan… or at least some of it. But this is one tradition I absolutely refuse to get behind.

  2. Leah said

    I can’t wait to have fun with you in LA! I’ve only sung karaoke once and it was frightening. Ok, so I’m flying into LAX Thursday night and I’m not sure if we’ll stay in LA that night or go to Newport. Jeff mentioned something about us staying in LA part of the time, and you guys staying in Newport with us part of the time. I don’t care what we do as long as I get to see you!!! đŸ™‚

    Ok, much love and I’ll see you in less than a week!

  3. Diana Dean said

    I am with you there…i’ve only done karaoke once BUT i was with about 10 people and i was drunk..so it wasn’t that bad, but i will NEVER, repeat never, sing by myself!
    this is my first time at your page and im loving it so far!

  4. Diana said

    sorry i had the wrong link to my blog..its dianabananna.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

