LOST and Savers

January 9, 2008

Today the job search continues.  Next week I think I will just go up to the Santa Monica area and scout and drop by a few of the places where I applied that didn’t specify “No walk-ins.”  This morning one of the relatives I am staying with told me that I don’t need to be anxious. “The right job is waiting for you,” he said.  Last night when I got home, I shared with the relatives that I’m the type of person who is very focused and likes to know what she is doing when she is doing it.

Yesterday I was feeling anxious, so I indulged in two things that always make me feel less anxious: purse shopping at a thrift store and watching several episodes of a favorite television show on DVD. The purse shopping I did in the morning, on my own, after spending about three hours at Panera searching for a job via the internet while intermittently playing Scrabble on Facebook. D took me out to Chick-Fil-A for lunch the other day (what a guy), and we drove by a giant thrift store called Savers. Yesterday I decided to return to Savers, thus widening my radius of daily activities. I tried on some clothes but found that Savers is a little expensive for a thrift store. In fact, I probably have the money-saving savvy to find similar items brand new for the same price or less by shopping end of season sales (I’m little, so I generally have good luck finding extravagantly cheap prices in my size, especially in shoes). If I would buy anything at Savers, it would have to be exceedingly unique and a perfect Ann-item. I found just such an item in a beautiful needlepoint purse. I forgot to bring my digital camera to Panera with me this morning, but I will try and remember to take a photograph of my new bag for my post tomorrow. It was made somewhere in China, which really isn’t that remarkable, except that it was probably sold in China as well. The tag brand name is written in Chinese characters. It’s super cute and very much my style.

In Savers, a woman about my age was ushering around an elderly woman (probably in her eighties) who was blind. I noticed them when I was flipping through the skirts, but didn’t overhear their conversation, so I didn’t realize that the woman was blind. When I was looking at the purses, they were behind me perusing a rack of jackets. The younger woman was enthusiastically describing a soft, cream-colored jacket to the older woman. She guided the woman’s hand to the jacket, and the woman touched it, murmuring at its softness. “This is so much fun,” the older woman told the younger woman.

After that I went to D’s house. For Christmas 2006, I bought him the first season of LOST. It has taken him this long to watch it, probably because I have scared him away a little bit through telling him all about how he’ll get addicted. I’ve never before encountered a more addicting show. Let’s not mention here how many classes I skipped that week I watched the first season a few years ago. After D and I were done with the first four episodes, three of his roommates watched the first disc, so we are all at the same point today and can watch the second disc together. I’m excited. Even though I don’t have a job yet, people have been encouraging me to savor this time of unemployment. The relatives reassured me of it yesterday evening. I’m welcome to stay there as long as I need to.

I am so very thankful for the people in my life.

5 Responses to “LOST and Savers”

  1. Laura said

    For sure savor the unemployment time. When I first moved back to Tulsa, I spent a month with no job, but looking. I, like you, was able to take time and find the perfect job, which did happen. In the meantime I spent lots of time writing and watching Gilmore Girls. It was a stressful time then, but I really miss it now!

  2. Sadie said

    I love Savers! They have one in Albuquerque, where I used to go to school. I also love Buffalo Exchange, which is more of a consignment store. In the two years I was in Albuquerque I bought and sold more things at Buffalo Exchange than I can remember.

  3. Sadie said

    Guess what! I found three Buffalo Exchange locations in the LA metro! You should look up the addresses and go to one.
    While the prices may be a little high for your liking, at least you will have one more thing to add to your daily adventuring.

  4. Kim said

    ah, yes, buffalo exchange, i love that place. ann, hang in there. and bask up that sun… way to keep strong with the 6 Rulers of the World. !!

  5. Amity said

    There’s a Buffalo Exchange on Ventura. There’s also a used clothing store called Iguana that has a location in Hollywood and one in Sherman Oaks. Some of the stuff is a little steep, but there are deals to be found!

Leave a Reply

